Dekalb County

Blue outline of the State of Georgia with a red outline showing Dekalb county.
  • Population: 765,000
  • Registered voters: 575,000
  • Local election authority: Board of Registration and Elections (appointed)
  • Full-time Election Staff: 20
  • Dekalb County Election Website

DeKalb County is located in the north central portion of the U.S. State of Georgia. The county seat is the City of Decatur. The county is part of the Atlanta metropolitan statistical area and Georgia’s fourth most populous. Boasting rich history, diverse residents, a stable economy, and an eclectic selection of world-class museums, art centers, music venues, neighborhoods, and locally owned shops and restaurants, DeKalb County offers an unparalleled community in which to live, learn, work, and play.

DeKalb County is composed of lifetime residents and new Georgians – all walks of life are represented throughout the many municipalities.

With almost 18,000 businesses in DeKalb County, it’s one of the fastest growing job markets in the state of Georgia. DeKalb is the headquarters of some of the country’s most prominent businesses and organizations, including the Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the only federal agency based outside of Washington, DC; the Yerkes Primate Center; American Cancer Society and Emory University’s Rollins Research Center. Emory University, one of the new Ivy League Schools of the South, and Agnes Scott College, a top women’s liberal arts college in the country, are located in DeKalb.

DeKalb County is governed by a board of commissioners, and its services include public safety, public works, parks and recreation, and economic development. It is also served by several major highways, including Interstate 285, Interstate 20, and Interstate 85, making it easily accessible from other parts of the state and country.